Black Hat, Chris Thile & Michael Daves

7:59PM | Allow me to start by saying that I think that I’ve defeated a white collar prerequisite tonight by finishing Who Moved My Cheese. Which isn’t all that bad of a book. It didn’t take me long to realize that I am “Scurry” the mouse who just runs to the next thing upon the signs of change. After all, that’s how I fell into search marketing and analytics from a decent radio career. The cheese got moldy.

Speaking of analytics, I had a wonderful lunch and chat with a guy who used to utilize black hat tactics for clients who paid him well for it. Obviously, he will remain nameless. I’m still rather new to SEO and SEM, you know? I’m still eating the baby food and living in the naive world of holistic analytics. The stories that my lunch companion were telling and showing me (that others do now) are incredible. I literally had no idea as to how deep and illegal some of these cats go. I still don’t have an idea, I think.

In any event, as I type this to you now, I listen to wonderful music daily. My pick for 2011 album of the year went to a couple of guys that the Gods of Bluegrass Fate brought together. It’s Chris Thile & Michael Daves – Chris Thile is my favorite mandolin player, and Michael Daves is, what I consider, the best flatpicker of our generation. Enjoy “20/20 Vision“, friends. I’m going to go add Who Moved My Cheese to my “recently read” list on LinkedIn. Cheers!

Leave a comment